quarta-feira, 3 de novembro de 2010

Barney Kessel Sleeping at Sometime

Recorded live at Sometime, Kichijyoji, Tokyo, February 23, 1977

Barney Kessel - guitar
Kunimitsu Inaba - bass
Tetsujiroh Obara - drums

1 Georgia on My Mind (Carmichael, Gorrell) 4:20
2 The Girl from Ipanema (DeMoraes, Gimbel, Jobim) 4:50
3 Feelings (Albert) 4:53
4 Bye Bye Blackbird (Dixon, Henderson) 5:54
5 Body and Soul (Eyton, Green, Heyman, Sour) 6:31
6 Barniana (Almeida) 5:01
7 Stella by Starlight (Washington, Young) 5:53
8 Willow Weep for Me (Ronell) 4:19
9 What Is This Thing Called Love ? (Porter) 4:25
10 Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise (Hammerstein, Romberg) 6:00


PW - melanchthon

Originally available on the Japanese Trio label, this Storyville CD reissue unfortunately has no liner notes. Guitarist Barney Kessel performs a set of overly relaxed warhorses with a couple of quietly supportive sidemen (bassist Kunimitsu Inaba and drummer Tetsujirah Obara) at a Tokyo club. Laurindo Almeida's "Barniana" is the only obscure material on a low-key and lightly swinging date which finds Kessel emphasizing his chordal work on such tunes as "Girl From Ipanema," "Bye Bye Blackbird" and "Willow Weep For Me." Sleepy music.
Scott Yanow

1 comentário: