segunda-feira, 7 de junho de 2010

Clifford Brown At The Cotton Club 1956

Lonehill Jazz LHJ10292 (3CD)
Clifford Brown At The Cotton Club 1956 - 320 kbps

Clifford Brown - Max Roach Quintet
Clifford Brown on trumpet
Sonny Rollins on tenor saxophone
Richie Powell at the piano
George Morrow on bass
and The World's Greatest Drummer Max Roach

"I play the trumpet, my name is Clifford Brown."
With these simple and unpretentious words, Brownie introduced himself to the audience of the Cotton Club in Cleveland, Ohio, on May 28, 1956.

May 28 was the opening night of a week-long engagement for the Max Roach-Clifford Brown Quintet, featuring Sonny Rollins on tenor sax, Richie Powell (Bud Powell's younger brother) on piano, and George Morrow on bass. Despite the exceptional talent of the individual band members, the quintet proved to be more than the sum of its parts. The Cleveland Cotton Club performances contained on this package - issued here for the first time ever - were recorded on amateur equipment and include sets played by the quintet on May 28, May 29 and June 1, 1956. As a bonus to these amazing performances, we present another previously unissued set: a radio broadcast by the same quintet coming from the Town Casino, in Buffalo, New York, recorded on February 26, 1956.
Lonehill Jazz. 2007.

1. Introduction
2. Take The "A" Train
3. Darn That Dream
4. Nice Work If You Can Get It
5. Jordu
6. Valse Hot (Incomplete)
7. Introduction by Max Roach into Get Happy
8. Unttled Blues
9. Delilah
10. Lover
11. Lover Man
12. Daahoud
13. What's New
14. I'll Remember April
15. Daahoud
16. 'Round Midnight
17. Blues Walk

pt1 - pt2 - pt3 - pt4

2 comentários:

  1. D/L

  2. Can u please re-up? thanx