quarta-feira, 29 de junho de 2011

Lee Konitz at Storyville 1954

Recorded at Storyville Club, Boston, Massachusetts on January 5, 1954.

Lee Konitz (alto saxophone) Ronnie Ball (piano) Percy Heath (bass) Alan Levitt (drums)

1 . Introduction by John Mclelland :53
2 . Hi Beck Konitz 7:38
3 . If I Had You Campbell, Connelly, Shapiro 11:19
4 . Subconscious Lee Konitz 5:31
5 . Sound-Lee Konitz 6:38
6 . Foolin' Myself Lawrence, Tinturin 6:01
7 . Introduction by John Mclelland :45
8 . Ablution Konitz 4:43
9 . These Foolish Things Link, Marvell, Strachey 4:10

P1 - P2 - P3
APE (LP) + cover (205 MB)
Originally released on Black Lion.

Label: Storyville 304 10" LP 1954

Design and photo: Burt Goldblatt

Thanks to moha

This excellent LP gives one a definitive look at altoist Lee Konitz at a period of time when he was breaking away from being a sideman and a student of Lennie Tristano and asserting himself as a leader. With pianist Ronnie Ball, bassist Percy Heath and drummer Alan Levitt, Konitz explores a variety of his favorite chord changes, some of which were disguised by newer melodies such as "Hi Beck," "Subconscious Lee" and "Sound Lee." Among the other highpoints of this well-recorded set are "Foolin' Myself" and a lengthy exploration of "If I Had You."

3 comentários:

  1. http://rapidshare.com/files/163969383/LeKoaS.part1.rar


  2. moha & 7oregons2tomates Thanks what a gem