sexta-feira, 8 de julho de 2011

Cannonball Adderley Quintet At The Philharmonic Paris (1960)

Label: Pablo Records
MP3 : 320 kbps I 44.1 Khz I Joint Stereo : 116 mb

Recorded live at Salle Pleyel, Paris, France on November 25, 1960

Cannonball Adderley alto saxophone Nat Adderley cornet Victor Feldman piano Sam Jones bass Louis Hayes drums

Tracks [54:44]
1. Introduction By Norman Granz 1:14
2. Jeannine 4:00
3. Dis Here 4:29
4. Blue Daniel 3:18
5. The Chant 3:24
6. Bohemia After Dark 8:28
7. Work Song 4:12

Thanks to Myna Cool-Jazzger

Capturing the entirety of one of Norman Granz's legendary Jazz at The Philharmonic sets, complete with an effusive introduction by Granz himself, PARIS 1960 is one of the best of the many live recordings of Julian "Cannonball" Adderley. The 55-minute set finds the alto saxophonist at a pivotal point in his career, as he was moving away from hard bop into the funkier, more groove-oriented, but no less technically masterful soul-jazz style that made him a star in the '60s.
The opening "Jeannine" is a hard-bop standard, but the Adderley quintet, featuring (as always) his brother Nat on cornet, stretches it out, sounding relaxed yet still intense. "The Chant," which Adderley had just recorded with his sideline group (the Pollwinners, featuring Wes Montgomery), sounds completely different--but no less outstanding--in its guitar-less arrangement. PARIS 1960 is essential for Adderley fans.

1 comentário: