segunda-feira, 25 de julho de 2011

Jimmy Bruno Live at Birdland 1996

Concord Records, issued 1999
Recorded at the Birdland Cafe, New York, New York on December 15 & 16, 1996

Jimmy Bruno electric guitar Bobby Watson alto saxophone Craig Thomas bass Vince Ector drums

1. Introduction
2. F 8
3. Move
4. Grooveyard
5. Valse Hot
6. Segment
7. Au Privave
8. These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
9. For J.T.
10. Anthropology
11. My One And Only Love

1. Reticulation
2. Chesapeake Blues
3. Joy Spring
4. Poinciana
5. I Can't Give You Anything But Love
6. Broadway
7. Lover Man
8. I Hear A Rhapsody
9. Darn That Dream
10. I Want To Be Happy

Links in comments

Review by Scott Yanow

This excellent set from guitarist Jimmy Bruno can easily be divided into two. The first four numbers (which include “Move” and “Grooveyard”) showcase Bruno in a trio with bassist Craig Thomas and drummer Vince Ector; the guitarist mostly swings quite hard. The other six songs feature the great altoist Bobby Watson, who takes spirited solos on “Segment,” “Au Privave,” and “Anthropology,” adding to the intensity and drive of this high-quality bop set. There are some quieter moments, including an alto/guitar duet on “These Foolish Things,” but the uptempo tunes are most memorable.

Thanks to Raz Jazz Is My Life : )

1 comentário:

  1. Live At Birdland Vol.1 - MP3 320

    Live At Birdland Vol.2
    Jazz | EAC | FLAC, CUE, LOG | Full Scans | 356.2 Mb