sexta-feira, 8 de julho de 2011

Charlie Parker At Storyville - 1953

Label : Blue Note 1953

Recorded at Storyville, Boston, Massachusetts on September 22, 1953

Charlie Parker saxophone Herb Pomeroy trumpet Roy Haynes, Kenny Clarke drums
Red Garland, Sir Charles Thompson piano Billy Griggs, Jimmy Wood bass

1. Moose The Mooche (5:16)
2. I'll Walk Alone (4:57)
3. Ornithology (4:27)
4. Out Of Nowhere (4:37)
5. Now's The Time (4:19)
6. Don't Blame Me (5:02)
7. Dancing On The Ceiling (2:31)
8. Cool Blues (4:54)
9. Groovin' High (5:05)
Total time : 41:08

Recorded at two 1953 Boston club dates, AT STORYVILLE is an album of loose, energetic and mightily swinging music. The first half of the record, which features the great pianist Red Garland in his only recorded date with Parker, is slightly peppier than the later session. Garland is still developing his style here, and his playing has a certain suaveness and bounce that reflects the influence of swing era pianists like Nat "King" Cole. Parker is loose and fiery, pushing the band ahead with a stream of energetic, serpentine solos.

On the second date, Bird's playing is somewhat more lyrical and subdued. He does seem to perk up on "Cool Blues," however, perhaps spurred on by the punchy, immaculately phrased trumpet work of Herb Pomeroy. While some have suggested that Parker's talents were in decline in the '50s, AT STORYVILLE was recorded less than two years before Bird's death and clearly demonstrates he was still capable of playing with his typical humor, pure tone and flawless feel.

1 comentário: